… to be the wrap

It’s funny / ironic that the “first” time that I sat to “write” about a situation “presented” was the initial ‘EARTH DAY’ composition contest given at my High School in 1972. I heard about it from one of the “heads” from the “Distributive Education” class we were taking, and the excitement of the National Honor Society candidates’ “bit champing” over the assorted categories made me list the excuses to NOT put my “TWOCENTSANSUM” into the fray. Remember that I’ve mentioned that I’m DYSLEXIC, and it WASN’T “fun” for me to have to cuneiform my weirdness to papyrus.

Even though there was “NO CHANCE” for me to get close to the “MENSIC” masters around me I wrote a story of two “folk” talking about the “days OF”. Simple sophomoric conversation like listening to “OLD FOLK” during the 1950’s Television shows… written by ROD SERLING. For some bizarre reason the story ‘won’ the ESSAY division. Now it’s FOURTY-ONE years after and, sadly, my Mother HAS LOST the original copy of the ONE, and ONLY documented accomplishment of thirteen years of “formal” education. That’s alright, because someday I’ll get it CORRECTED. I’ve been practicing  on WORDPRESS.COM  around 1,219 times now, and this TITLE is the first attempt.

SO, as Cheech Marin and Tommy Chong’s  Chicano buddy’s namesake is… JUAN MOTIYM !

how long until the wither
whither that I care at all
whether when wet turns to white
is this orb spinning around hot ball

how now the vow to find success
is gist of fist at fate
and low to grow past didn’t show
be also ran to great

the simple word jot with some verve
slow sample of left behind
hop-scotched thought earned not bought
your stopping here so kind

so, on this lap the hunt to tap
find’s oh-oh from e.e.’s map
’tis so much joy to “Ginny’s” boy
this sentence to be the wrap

Published in: on October 29, 2013 at 3:52 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

think

