‘Free’ Speech

what could they do
if I just gave them
silent prayers
not on my knees
but from
some chair

what would they do
if the pencils
went unsharpened
and still
and chewed

what would they do if
I stopped driving
walking to
wherever
whenever
forever

what could they do
while I grew
my own food
made candles
wasted
nothing

where would they find
earmarks
big cars
campaign funds
corporate backers
Cancer RESEARCH monies

what would they blame
if I did
NO WRONG
NO DRUGS
NO SEX
NO MORE

what would they do IF
I
just
stopped
caring
what they would do

think

