The Corporate Attitude…

… A Craigslist venture as an example.

I have just moved to a small town in Ohio and have been busying myself with little self improving projects. I’ve been working on a bicycle that had so few parts left that I decided to try to make it into a “Single Speed” model from its original 10-speed configuration.( A “Single Speed” is the removal of all the multiple gears on the front and rear / pedals and back axle and making the bike a two sprocket vehicle, just like one’s first bicycle. ) An exercise that would give me EXERCISE. To do this I had to find the proper “DONOR” parts so I began my search via CRAIGSLIST. I figured that since the starter frame was of the era of the 1980’s that the “best” fit would be from something of that time of style and engineering.

After about three days of “soft scrubbing” the central Ohio area of the list I came across an advertisement for a Huffy 10 speed men’s bicycle for the sum of TEN dollars. The photo was Warhol-esque, in the fact that the advertiser had not taken the proffered item from the storage hooks in the ceiling, so the bike was up-side down in the ad.

At this I’ll regress a bit into a short, observative history of my area of childhood “growth”. Worthington, Ohio is named for Governor Thomas Worthington, (1803), and my family was part of many of the “little” histories that make for a “tan” version of a “John-boy” storyline. Worthington was a small town, but the kids that I grew up with “had” or came into MONEY. The Nicklaus clan was in contact with two generations of us, Jack/ “Puge”, the young BASKETBALL star turned GOLF ICON, was on the county all-star team with an Uncle. Jack’s niece was in a class, or two with me. ( Linda) These folks, of the “old sector” were DOWN TO EARTH, AND “COLOR” Blind. As developers began to expand the boundaries of the city’s population the families that purchased those “satellite” abodes, the “Better” ones sat around a golf course. And that’s where this story re-connects…

Barb Hill, ( This IS her REAL name.), had been living in such a “satellite”, the bicycle was ridden by her, now, grown son. The woman was moving in a very short time and had to lighten her moving load, thus she listed the two-wheeled time capsule on Craig’s “web-store”. I called Mrs.,(?), Hill and asked her some cursory questions about the “floating” bicycle, as we’d come to an agreement that I DID wish to obtain the item, she GAVE ME HER ADDRESS,(!!!), and asked that I arrive around the time of THREE O’CLOCK, ( post meridian ! ), since she had “some errands” to do. Now, as an example, to get from the house I grew up in to Mrs. (?), Hill’s satellite it would take over fifteen minutes, and that’s the SAME VILLAGE ! The town I’m traveling from is over forty minutes away from Columbus, Ohio’s most southern incorporation. My friend and I take the trip to WORTHINGTON HILLS, a “burb” OF a “burb”, FOUR counties of gasoline away.Now, since I’ve moved 45 minutes from the city of Columbus, Ohio I wanted to make sure that there’d be no futilities for my EFFORT by asking the “seller” to contact me via my cell, to re-affirm the “sales’ agreement”. The event never occurred and as we rolled into the cul-de-sac, AT THE PROPER TIME, a “mature” woman was standing talking to a man, with “familiarity’s” ease. When I inquired as to her being the owner of the advertised item she told me that the man she was talking with “HAD JUST PURCHASED IT”… an “I just farted”, excuse me ending her apologetic expression.

I called her and told her that I hope that someone doesn’t treat her in such a manner in any of her future dealings.

This is so much a mirror of how America has treated the world, we’ve made too many PROMISES for goods and services that aren’t being delivered on… homes, stocks, our rights. If we cheat one another for the small stuff, what is the “BIG” stuff worth ?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ghaucher.wordpress.com/2009/03/30/the-corporate-attitude/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

think

