From ANY Angle:This IS Me

From ANY Angle: This IS Me

I have ‘earned’ my living as a UNION stagehand, on a ‘fairly’ steady basis, for the past twenty some odd years. When you include the time of other entertainment oriented ventures it becomes a, soon to be, thirty-three years of tarnishing glitter. Of the six blogs that I try to fill with some modicum of “intelligent” observation each has its own facet of the “ME” I wish you to connect with. I’ve let you know that I’d been a part of the ‘Studio 54’ and “Just-Say-NO” eras of Cocaine abuse, (The “DUST AND STONE” Tours.), besides being the last generation to have had any possible physical contact with the progenative group that arrived here in the bondage known as SLAVERY. (My maternal GREAT-Grandmother passed at the age of ONE- HUNDRED and (?) FOUR, when I was eight years old, in LEESVILLE, SOUTH CAROLINA.) I “grew up” in a little suburban town named after a man that Ohio historians have labeled “The Father of OHIO Statehood”, a microcosm of American values at the time. [http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/51/Thomas_Worthington.g
if/180px Thomas_Worthington.gif&imgrefurl=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Worthington_(governor)&h=208&w=180&sz=19&hl=en&start=14&tbnid=NcP-IKVu -0eUyM:&tbnh=105&tbnw=91&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dthomas%2Bworthington%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3 Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26sa%3DG ]
Although a bit ahead of the curve at times, ( my aunt Ethel was the first African-American CHEERLEADER at the lone high school in 1948, possibly coinciding with the U.S. government’s integrating the various armed services.), in many other aspects. Thomas Worthington, a Methodist man, who in leaving his native Virginia FREED ALL of HIS SLAVES on his conditions of proof in conviction, someone well ahead of his more famous contemporaries like George Washington and Thomas Jefferson.
As I’ve witnessed and met several unique people I have always looked for as much information as I could glean from their knowledge, which has labeled me a “know- it-all” by my “brethren”, knowing something other than all the words to ‘Bonanza’ and ‘The Beverly Hillbillies’ is not Sri Chinmoy. And I
will always refuse to answer to “What’s up my N _ _ _ _ r?” when the ‘ZZ-Biker’ hand attempts humor in front of the clients. It’s not easy being one of the few individuals that will not fold to the pressure of the constant corporate” re-dumbing” down of America there’s too much at stake. So, no matter how badly this world tries to treat me I’ll remain me… from any angle… this IS me.

Published in: on July 26, 2008 at 5:16 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ghaucher.wordpress.com/2008/07/26/from-any-anglethis-is-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I may not understand this situation,not having walked in your shoes, but I know emotions and respect for life; sometimes they refuse to coincide. Blessings.


think

